Tree Talk: Artists Speak for Trees

Thursday, June 24, 2021

United States: 3pm PT, 4pm MT, 5pm CT, 6pm ET

Australia: 8am AEST

Melinda Hurst Frye, Tony Bellaver, Narelle Carter-Quinlan, Pamela Pauline

For our June Tree Talk, four outstanding ecoartspace artists will share their ideas and photo-based works about trees and forests. Melinda Hurst Frye will speak on themes of ecology and place in her photographs of the churning Pacific Northwest landscape floor, the land of the Coast Salish people. Tony Bellaver will present his recent photo project “Resource Extraction” and mixed media books and sculptures, which examine and confront the anthropocentric practice of forest clear cutting. Anatomist and histologist, Narelle Carter-Quinlan will share her experiences of her body as part of the living fabric of Country (tree skin – my skin – Australian skin) and embodied ecology of Place. Pamela Pauline will discuss “Fragile Beauty, Rich and Rare” and “On the Brink,” her works created entirely of flora and fauna endemic to Australia and listed as rare, vulnerable or endangered.

Tree Talk is moderated by Sant Khalsa, ecofeminist artist and activist, whose work has focused on critical environmental and societal issues including forests and watersheds for four decades.

Co-sponsored by Joshua Tree Center for Photographic Arts

Members and one guest are free. General Public can attend for a $10. Capacity is 100 participants. All participants MUST REGISTER.

REGISTER

%d bloggers like this: